Weight!

KerryR

Hi All,

Like so many others, I will start with "I'm new to this!"

Long story short, after much searching we have paid a deposit on our first Motorhome - a 2005 Ace Roma 6 berth.

My query is regarding the weight........she is listed as PLG on the V5 and the max laden weight on the VIN plate under the bonnet also states 3500kg but every search on Google has come back with an MTPLM of 3850kg

We're both post '97 license holders hence are only permitted to drive up to 3500kg and are concerned there may be something we have overlooked and will be driving illegally.

We don't want to pick the van up and take her over a weigh bridge to find we've made a huge mistake and are overweight or with a payload so low we have to leave the kids at home (as tempting as that may be!)

Anyone out there know if there was a 3500kg spec Ace Roma made or have any advise please?

• Replies 63
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Kerry welcome to the forum.

If the V5 states 3500 kg and the plate on the vehicle states 3500kg then you can drive the motorhome on a normal car licence.

The question you need to find out is the weight of the vehicle in running order MIRO to find out what available load you can carry before being over loaded and therefore illegal. Loads are quickly eaten up when you carry bikes, water, diesel gas plus all the normal holiday things you carry. it may be worth asking the dealer for a weigh bridge certificate to give you some idea of what you have left in the way of payload.

If its only 300/350 kg you may struggle depending how many there are of you.

The figure you have seen of 3850kg may have been available as an option to plate the vehicle at a higher weight when it was new. Many vans can be plated higher but would have consequences on who could drive.

Hope this helps

Gavin