Hose Pipes / Insurance

channelsocket

Hi,

I'm new to motorhomes and could do with knowing, is it essential to use a food grade hosepipe for filling water tanks ?

Also, we have just got insurance cover for our motorhome but the underwritter would not cover my partner as she has no experience of driving a larger vehicle / motorhome. Any ideas out there for training courses where you don't use your own vehicle for the course. An approved course is the only way she can gain experience for the insurers to cover her. Cheers, David

We've only ever used ordinary garden hoses. All over mainland Europe. And haven't died yet.

We use bottled water for cooking/drinking; and the water from the on-board freshwater tank for showering, washing up, and rinsing toothbrushes; and our toilet flush water comes from that tank too.

A normal hose pipe wont do you any harm but some of them do taint the water so it tastes a bit funny.

I have a 5 metre blue plastic food grade hose and a 25 metre roll out hose pipe. I try to use the food grade one where possible but when I have to use the hose pipe there is a difference in taste.

From my experience use a food grade if your going to use the water from the tank for drinking (and why would you not as thats the point of onboard water) as normal garden hose particularily cheap ones will taint your water. I tryed about 3 different ones before I concluded that there is a difference in the materials used for potable and none potable applications. For the sake of a few pounds more you may as well have peace of mind that you have the right product.

Sorry cant help you on the other question.

ips - 2013-04-03 12:52 PM