Replacing 240v inlet on MH

pyrie

Hi,

I'm new to MH and repairs - I'm going to have to replace the 240v inlet for my MH as the existing square hinged door is cracked and they're impossible to source.

I presume I need some form of sealant to keep rain out, should I be using mastic tape or anything else or both?

Please advise

regards

Brian

Hi Brian,

I had to replace mine recently and sourced the right one easily online. No mastic or sealant was required as it came with a foam gasket. When it comes to DIY I'm worse than useless but had it fitted within 10 minutes.

Best of luck,

Ian

It’s evident from on-line adverts that a foam gasket is commonly provided with replacement 230V inlets, but it also seems fairly commonplace for motorhome manufacturers to install inlets using a jointing compound instead of or as well as a gasket.

An earlier discussion...

http://www.outandaboutlive.co.uk/forums/Motorhomes/Hints-and-Tips/replacing-a-broken-front-cover-on-the-electric-hook-up-into-the-motorhome/34200/

Easy to change, there was mastic between the gasket and the body so I had to warm it first, and then used gutter sealant before screwing tight.

Only problem is that the new one is pure white and makes all the old fittings look tatty.

Thanks for your replies.

I ordered a complete unit, it comes with a gasket.

The existing one on the van does not have a gasket, and it appeared to be stuck on with some white stuff - it was not white silicone sealant - is this the mastic? out of a tube?

I managed to use a wall paper scraper to carefully loosen it, before wiggling the old unit free. Put in the new unit with gasket, and the existing screws are not exactly perfect for holding it in place as one has nothing to grip on to in the wall.

Next few days there's been rain and this has led to some water ingress >:-(

So I'll have to remove it, bin the gasket, and use some mastic like previously was on to completely seal the area.